View Single Post
Old 10-01-2011, 07:58 AM   #155
Back2Black
I go back to black....

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
Back2Black is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 0.00
Savings: 0.00
I guess I kind of a have a sob story here, but I'll try to make it less whiny. I did date an NDN guy for almost a year, and it was terrible. It had nothing to do with his background (I'm a black female, I didn't give a flying squirrel's butt then, I still don't, now) but it had everything to do with the people around us.

I was a naive art Freshman in college and he really was one of the first people I met on campus. Now, mind you, I was interested in the culture and customs loooong before I met him (no, I'm not a wannabe, I just happen to be a bit of a historical culture geek), but I believed that when we jumped into our 'fling', we were both prepared for it...as prepared as two college students ever were.

His friends were a different story. They were white, they were mostly female, and, to be brutally honest, they were extremely stuck up and looked down on me, immediately. Particularly, one girl in the group who considered herself as the 'leader'. She wanted to date my ex and really gave me a hard time whenever I tried to befriend her or cushion things between us. She was about 23 or 24 and had the maturity of a menstruating 11 year old. If things didn't go her way, she either cried, or acted as if she were the HBIC (Head B>>>> In Charge).