Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By earthwormjim22
  • 2 Post By Fang
  • 1 Post By Joe's Dad
  • 2 Post By WhoMe
  • 1 Post By AmigoKumeyaay

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Pow Wow Talk Cultural appropriation concerns Cultural appropriation concerns

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2016, 08:49 AM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
earthwormjim22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 108.00
Savings: 0.00
Cultural appropriation concerns

Hi there, I have a question for you all which I feel is important.

First off, I am a music producer from Scotland and after years of making dance/club electronic music I would like to return to my more organic, instrumental and traditional roots. For this project I would like to use a different alias and Iíve fallen upon the name Many Horns.

I am sensitive to the debates surrounding cultural appropriation and wanted to gather peopleís opinions on this and see if they found this to be an acceptable use of the name or not?

Primarily, I like the metaphors the name represents. Many horns to me could mean: Many sides in a spiritual sense/ many talents and instruments in a musical sense etc.

Whilst I do have a great appreciation for the nameís origin and history, I am in no way trying to imitate the original man or what he represented as I feel that this would be inappropriate. Since I was a young child i have always been interested in Native culture and greatly admired it even though itís not something I can directly identify with growing up in rural Scotland. Despite this, itís still something that has inspired me throughout my life to appreciate the earth and itís people in a more positive way.