Like Tree13Likes
  • 1 Post By juluspahl
  • 4 Post By Joe's Dad
  • 1 Post By juluspahl
  • 2 Post By Chevy_truckin_NDN
  • 2 Post By Josiah
  • 1 Post By juluspahl
  • 2 Post By wanjica_the_one

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Pow Wow Singing > Northern Singing New to this New to this

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 03:10 AM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
juluspahl is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 157.00
Savings: 0.00
New to this

I have been to a few Pow Wows in Wisconsin and have been watching and listening to drum music and watching dancing, grass dance especially. I studied Western Music formally and it is completely different than the Native American Drum. The drum is just mesmerizing and I get lost in the beat and love how the honor beats seem to fall. I guess what I am asking is how is the music structured? I can't seem to find it. When watching the dancers they all stop on the final beat.....I can't seem to understand where it happens and how they know its coming. Is there an overall form? Any insight for me? Any tips as to what I should listen to develop more of an understanding?
NPSS likes this.
juluspahl is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-28-2013, 03:20 AM   #2
The voices tell me...

Items CatCatCatCat
Joe's Dad has a reputation beyond reputeJoe's Dad has a reputation beyond reputeJoe's Dad has a reputation beyond repute