Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By wanjica_the_one
  • 1 Post By HaskellAlum
  • 1 Post By Cherocayuga
  • 1 Post By bahnisiain

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Women's Dance Styles > Cloth Dancing T Dress v. Tear Dress T Dress v. Tear Dress

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
ghanimajade is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 40.00
Savings: 0.00
T Dress v. Tear Dress

Okay...its taken me a long time to work up the courage to make a regalia. Mostly because my Cherokee heritage has been trumped by my Scottish side I don't feel like I belong. Pale skin and red hair, but anyway....I digress....

I'm not very good with making things so the idea of making a Tear Dress is daunting, that's a lot of fabric for me to screw up. My friend had me try on a T Dress of hers and I liked the way it fit and it seemed to be easy to make.

My question is this...would it be good taste for me to wear something not traditional to my heritage? I don't want to disrespect anyone or offend anyone. I've spent a good chunk of my life at Pow Wows and around the culture but was never brave enough to dance because I never felt like I fit in until now.

Thoughts....ideas....

Ghani
ghanimajade is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-30-2011, 10:07 AM   #2
PauWau Coordinator

Items Devil
WhoMe has a reputation beyond reputeWhoMe has a reputation beyond reputeWhoMe has a reputation beyond reputeWhoMe has a reputation beyond repute