Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Women's Dance Styles > Fancy Shawl Dancing Future of women's fancy Future of women's fancy

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2001, 06:28 PM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
butterfli123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 0.00
Savings: 0.00
Question Future of women's fancy

I have been dancing since I was about 13 yrs old, although didn't really get into the circuit until several years ago. During that time I have noticed a decreased interest in fancy... is it just me? Most of my younger female relatives, who do not dance, said that they would be interested in traditional or jingle rather than fancy. What's up with that! Do ya'll think women's fancy is going out of style? Just a though... but even so, I'll dance fancy till I can't dance anymore. I can see it now, me in golden age, skipping around the arena... I love it! :D
Old 09-19-2001, 07:57 PM   #2
Pow Wow Visitor

DivineJingle is an unknown quantity at this point
I think this is good observation. I notice that there are a lot more jingle or traditional dancers than there are fancy, and I was wondering the same thing. I think maybe cuz, with both jingle and tradish, you can make one set of leggings and moccs and wear various dresses and still look good, but with fancy, it looks better with a variety of outfits. Just my thoughts.
DivineJingle is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-19-2001, 11:52 PM   #3
Junior Dancer