Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Women's Dance Styles > Buckskin Dancing So much beading... So much beading...

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 03:03 PM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
Woodlands Daughter is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 30.00
Savings: 0.00
So much beading...

I am just starting to design my first buckskin outfit. I have been dancing cloth for a couple of years. Around here, the buckskin dancers wear very simple outfits without a lot of beading. Sometimes they are unadorned and only have the simple beaded jewelry to go with it. As I design mine I think I want to keep it pretty simple as well, but I see pictures of the competition style buckskin outfits and there is soooo much bead work. Is there meaning to the different pieces of bead work? I've read about the history of crowns, but I have only ever seen two dancers in this area wearing crowns. What about the other beaded pieces in your regalia. Can anyone tell me if there is specific meaning to it or if it is just for decoration? Is some of it traditional for the specific tribes or is this just the competition style? I'm excited to learn more as I love to do beading, but it is just not something that I see much of at the pow wows around here.
Woodlands Daughter is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-25-2011, 02:01 PM   #2
PauWau Coordinator

Items Devil
WhoMe has a reputation beyond reputeWhoMe has a reputation beyond reputeWhoMe has a reputation beyond repute