Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Like Tree9Likes
  • 3 Post By wanjica_the_one
  • 1 Post By OLChemist
  • 1 Post By DDLF
  • 2 Post By wardancer
  • 2 Post By OLChemist

Forum Home - Go Back > General > Native Life > Native Issues HELP: Creating a respectful headdress illustration HELP: Creating a respectful headdress illustration

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2020, 05:51 PM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
DDLF is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 155.07
Savings: 0.00
Question HELP: Creating a respectful headdress illustration

Hi, I am an illustration Student from Colorado and have been assigned to design a cover for a book. My chosen book is '[I]There There[I]' by Tommy Orange which centers around urban Indians in Oakland, California.

My idea for a cover was to incorporate the road signs mentioned in the novel into a recognizable design that illustrates what the book is about (as Oakland is in itself a character and crucial part of the story as is made obvious by the book's prelude).

So, I came up with attached design (shown by rough sketch) to show how connected people, culture, and location are - playing off of the idea of feathers being replaced by the road signs that were 'earned' throughout the story.

I want to stress that I confess to my own ignorance and have being my best to research and learn. I want to show knowledgeable respect and gratitude so I would massively appreciate feedback concerning cultural relevance, symbolism, respect, and appreciation.

I want to do this right and if that isn't possible I won't do it at all.
Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
sketches-3.jpg  
DDLF is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-16-2020, 04:32 PM   #2
Pow Wow Visitor

Items PresentDolphinDevil