Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Pow Wow Talk > Pow Wow FAQ's complete novice, looking for help complete novice, looking for help

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2005, 12:26 AM   #1
No Day But Today

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
fightingoneself has a spectacular aura about
Credits: 0.00
Savings: 0.00
complete novice, looking for help

I was kinda nervous about posting here. I've posted as a novice to other things before on other sites, and got compleatly trashed, so please believe I post here with most sincere curiosity.

I recently found out about my native american heratige and have been to only one or two pow wows in my life, as a spectator (when I was pretty young). I want to learn as much as I can of this part of my heratige. I want to be able to go to a Pow Wow and fully understand what's going on. I want to learn everything about the culture from a personal point of view. I know I can look online, but getting it from a personal perspective is totally different.

I apologize if that seemed compleatly and utterly corny. I just have a few questions that I couldn't find answers for on this site.

1. What is the judgeing criteria at Pow Wows?
2. Does everyone make thier dance clothing for the Pow Wows?
3. How do you know the dances? choreographed steps? improvisation?

I'm sure there are other questions, but my mind is drawing a blank. I'll post them later. I would greatly appriciate any help. Again, please have mercy on a curiouse novice.
"ACT UP FIGHT AIDS!"
fightingoneself is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-23-2005, 04:52 AM   #2
PowWows.com Addicts

badmaninc has a reputation beyond reputebadmaninc has a reputation beyond reputebadmaninc has a reputation beyond reputebadmaninc has a reputation beyond repute