Register Groups Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By Josiah
  • 2 Post By ChildrenFromTheSun

Forum Home - Go Back > Pow Wow Arena > Ask PowWows.com Doing a Pocahontas Research Project Doing a Pocahontas Research Project

Reply LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2018, 09:49 PM   #1
Pow Wow Visitor

User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsvBActivity Stats
Prismacolor is an unknown quantity at this point
Credits: 102.00
Savings: 0.00
Doing a Pocahontas Research Project

Hi everyone, I'm a student in an American Lit class doing research on the real, un-glamorized, un-Anglicized life of Matoaka / Pocahontas. I feel really compelled to find out more about her, but the last thing I want to do is misrepresent her and the culture as a whole. I'm amassing a lot of sources, but I wanted to consult this forum to see if you guys might be able to share some of your knowledge and help me represent her accurately.

The project we have to do is a children's book, and so, there will be drawings in it. I can't seem to find a good source that talks about how Pocahontas really dressed (before she was in Europe). Do you guys have any insight on this?

Also, how might Pocahontas have dressed as a child? I am trying to illustrate major points throughout her whole life, so I want to be sure she's accurately dressed even as a kid.

Any information at all that you guys have on her or the culture in general that you think academic sources might miss would be extremely helpful and appreciated.

I'm so sorry if any of this comes off as invasive or ignorant, that isn't my intention whatsoever. Thanks so much, Pow Wow forums!
Prismacolor is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-02-2018, 07:02 AM   #2
Powwow Dude

Items DevilUser Name Style ChangeUser Title Style Change
Josiah has a reputation beyond reputeJosiah has a reputation beyond reputeJosiah has a reputation beyond repute