recommend some books

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• recommend some books

so i was in abarnes & noble looking for something to read and i came across the "native american section"... which was like 2 shelves.
    and i was really disappointed at the new age crap that was mixed into that section.
    anyway.... i'm still looking for something good to read.
    any books you'd recommend?
    There is only one success; to be able to live your life in your own way.

I would recommend:

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, by Carl Waldman.

I used this book like a bible when I worked as a researcher.

It gives phonetic and different spellings for tribal names. The historical information is pretty good. So is the current information about contemporary issues and leaders. In several cases it tells what language family a tribe belongs to and what other tribes are similar or affiliated.

Good stuff!
    Powwows will continue to evolve in many directions. It is inevitable.

Comment

Fools Crow
      sigpic

Comment

"Prison Writings" by Leonard Peltier, or "In the Spirit of Crazy Horse" If your looking for something Fictional I suggest anything by Sherman Alexie, or Louise Erdrich, or N. Scott Momaday who writes more nonfiction I think, but still, all excellent authors.
        "As your children want to become doctors and lawyers, they may find it difficult. They may hear 'well, your parents were in a terrorist group/ We tell you that now, so you understand it. Tell your children to tell their children this [Wounded Knee 1973] was a very proud moment. Wear that history like a badge of honor. We will never, ever say we were sorry we did it." Dennis Banks, AIM

"Everything that has ever happened to us is there to make us stronger." John Trudell

You gotta say it right "Pahk tha cah in Havid yahd! "

Comment

thanks, i'll check them out

Comment

Good Books

Love's Soft Voice is a really good book. Check out the website at Welcome To Ruby's Books.