Mental Illness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mental Illness

I heard some where that ndns have a higher occurence of mental illness, especially depression and bi-polar disorder. Is this true? Does anyone know if there have been studies done on this issue. I am studying to become a psychologist and this has come to my attention more that once.

Dr. Joseph Stone, PhD, CAC III, ICADC, Blackfeet Nation Tribal Enrollment #U10415, Program Manager and Clinical Supervisor at the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Behavioral Health Program at Grand Ronde, Oregon presents an entire curriculum for would-be counselors concerning the affect of cultural disenfranchisement/Post-Colonialism Stress Disorder and its impact on Native Americans. The price among our people has been incredibly high. Joe is extremely well-published in the mental health profession regarding behavioral health, addiction, etc. in our communities.

In a nutshell, tribal communitites are impacted by a historical trend of violence perpetrated by the dominant or affluent Euro-American culture. These historical influences included: dispossession, biological warfare, disruption of culture, Indian wars, federal and religious boarding schools which disrupted family and language, termination, relocation, modern influences (gangs and drugs). Each of these systemic influences has changed parenting practices within the tribal communities and thus the neurodevelopment and developmental psychopathology of tribal people manifesting itself in the form of psychiatric disorders and addictive behaviors. His solution? we must reclaim our tribal identities and spirituality if we are to recover as a people. If anyone wants more info on Joe's papers I think I still have e-files I can share.

Aho.

Comment