Kiowas! Please Read!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kiowas! Please Read!

My name is Thomas and I'm a composer from Houston, Texas. I was brought into the native world by friends, not by blood. Ever sense I entered the circle I have felt obligated to give back to it, so I began singing with my friends. The powwow and the enviornment that surrounds it has changed me.

That being said, I know a good handfull of songs by heart, and one of them, which I have done extensive research on and have come to love, is a Kiowa prayer song. All I have been able to translate literally is the words Dahk-ya-ee (God) and Aho (Hello or Goodbye). But the jist of it is that it is a cry to God for help.

So here's the problem. I'm writing a piece for the Houston Ballet Academy. The piece with the dance will be performed at the Hobby Center in Houston, TX. In the middle of the piece, I have the Kiowa prayer song being sung.

I've gotten mixed reviews from people saying its too contriversal, and that its dissrespecting the native culture. And I was just wondering, if I'm using it in a respectful way, would it be ok to go on with this idea?

My motive behind this piece is to respect and promote the native culture NOT TO TAKE IT AS MY OWN!

I want your opinion, because this piece has been choreographed to and will be performed at the Hobby Center in Houston July 12.
    Last edited by lemonyfresh09; 07-08-2007, 06:41 PM.

I am not Kiowa, so I do not speak for them.

I do have an analogy for you though.

I am not Catholic. I was not born a Catholic, but I have a great respect for their traditions. Some of my Catholic friends have taught me some of the songs that they sing. In the Catholic Mass there are three acclamations which are always sung by all during the Eucharistic Prayer. These are the Holy, the Memorial Acclamation and the Great Amen. I don't know what a Eucharistic Prayer is but the songs are really stirring.