No announcement yet.

2007 and racism is alive and thriving..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2007 and racism is alive and thriving..

Okay, so I haven't been around for a while- my dad is getting very frail and it's difficult to find me time.
    I have been having some health issues and went to the local community clinic (no IHS here). They sent me for blood work and forgot to give me some paperwork. So I went back and the lady in charge was filling it out again and go to race. So she says I don't need to ask about that- and writes "W". SO I said, no sorry I'm a member of the Miami Tribe of Oklahoma, you know Native American. So she says there is no such catagory. I pointed out that on every application I have ever seen they always had a American Indian/Alaskan Native section. And she says- Well I don't mark Italian. I have NO idea what my facial expression was BUT she pats me on the arm and says "now don't get offended, I'm a social worker".
    So this charming experience is going up there with the history teacher from High School who informed the class that "real indians don't exsist anymore".
    These people. Sheez.
    Otter

hope your dad is doing ok.

unfortunatley the world isn't going ot run out of ignorance anytime soon. Educating the general public is a full time job....
    There is only one success; to be able to live your life in your own way.

Comment

Mrs. Ignorance and Mr. Racism...

Beloved Seaotter...