HELP: Creating a respectful headdress illustration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP: Creating a respectful headdress illustration

Hi, I am an illustration Student from Colorado and have been assigned to design a cover for a book. My chosen book is '[I]There There[I]' by Tommy Orange which centers around urban Indians in Oakland, California.

My idea for a cover was to incorporate the road signs mentioned in the novel into a recognizable design that illustrates what the book is about (as Oakland is in itself a character and crucial part of the story as is made obvious by the book's prelude).

So, I came up with attached design (shown by rough sketch) to show how connected people, culture, and location are - playing off of the idea of feathers being replaced by the road signs that were 'earned' throughout the story.

I want to stress that I confess to my own ignorance and have being my best to research and learn. I want to show knowledgeable respect and gratitude so I would massively appreciate feedback concerning cultural relevance, symbolism, respect, and appreciation.

I want to do this right and if that isn't possible I won't do it at all.
    Thank you.
    Attached Files

You're better off by illustrating a Southern Straight dancer from the Arapaho and/or Cheyenne tribe walking along an Oakland street with your street poles.

Your first illustration is uninviting.
    Wanjica Infinity No One

Comment

Appreciate the feedback. If I may ask, what about it is uninviting to you(I am not disagreeing with you just looking for constructive criticism)?

Also, (just in case it is the drawing style that comes across as uninviting) please note that it just a thumbnail sketch in sharpie to get the idea across, it is by no means a finished illustration which would be more lifelike and colored.

Thank you

Comment