Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Recipes for Powwow Feed

Hi,
    Just wondering if anyone has info on recipes for beef soup and frybread to feed 200-300 people at an outdoor powwow? My step-father passed and we would like to honor him with a feed but have never done this before. I would appreciate suggestions on recipes, ingredients, cooking times, equipment needed, setup of cooking/serving area, drinks, paper products, how much to feed how many, where to get ingredients (beef for soup), how many people will be needed, etc. Do you think this would be a simple enough menu for us newbies and would it be sufficient? Should we provide a dessert as well? If so, suggestions? Thank you for your help.

Cooking

Hi I am an executive chef, I need more specifics about your meal and I can help, whish I was closer, I'd come help!!! What kind of beef soup, a chili, a stew, beef vegetable? Soup is a good way to feed alot of people, but you still need pots, a large kitchen or a few home kitchens and helpers. A good way is to just find a local church or hall ,they usually rent kitchens for the day and have equipment and may let you store the made soup there and reheat it there. With large groups and outdoor events finding a place to reheat it all etc can be a problem. Let me know what is available to you and I can set you up with recipes and quantities. Your best bet is to go to Sams club or store like that to buy bulk if you don't have wholesale suppliers available to you. You should do a dessert, you can do assorted desserts that aren't expensive, fruit salad, cookies, brownies with dinner, Beef Chili, rice, boiled or roasted corn on the cob. For serving and keeping the food hot you will need chaffing dishes for rice and/or soup warmers, you would probably have to rent them or you can buy disposable ones at a local party store, foil hotel pans, sterno warmes etc. I can get you what quantities to buy and recipes when youj know what specific dish you want to