Help!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help!!

Hello everyone!! As you can see I'm new to this and I just wanted to join to see if I could get some questions answered. I have a little boy whom I want to dance but have no direction. I've been going to powwows myself for about a year trying to get a feel for what's going on. My son is getting to an age where I feel he could start and I hear people all the time say that it's good for them to start at a young age.
    My question is how do I start? I was told to ask an elder but my son and I live away from family and friends. I don't have any grandparents and most of my relatives have passed on. I also noticed that every powwow I've gone to has pretty much the same people and they all know each other and they seem pretty tight knit. I have yet to meet a friendly face who would be willing to direct me. I sometimes feel like an outsider when I go, but it's extremely important to me because I want to get my son involved. He is picking up drumming which I think is awesome. He walks around with any two things in his hand and sings!!! It's so amazing to him and myself that he picked it up at such a young age. (He's only almost 2!) So, if someone is willing to take me under their wing and direct me I would greatly appreciate it!!