Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Don't know anybody

Hey all,

I'm also new to the Indian community :) As my family has never much been involved, I am on my own in learning our customs. I would very much like to get involved. We are of the Sault St Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians in Michigan. I have learned a whole lot out of books and have been to spiritual gatherings as well as many pow wows and offered tobacco on occasion. So I have gathered much information but I still have the problem that I don't know anybody except for a Native Lit teacher (of whom took me under her wing as shes anishinabae as well and very involved in her tribes community). I have met people in passing at pow wows that are really nice but its still hard. I would like to get more involved and even possibly get my little one dancing. So I'd like to learn about dancing and making regalia... I just don't know where to start...

Let me know ig you have any suggestions.

Hi Alofton! Welcome to PW.com! I'm sure that there is someone here that can help out and maybe point you in the right direction!
    "It doesn't really matter, they don't know any better anyway."

Comment

Angie,

Welcome to the community. I originally thought you were a man, then realized you weren't.

I'm not to up on the protocols for women when it comes to the area (I'm also in michigan) I do know there are quite a few you should speak with, perhaps you should get ahold of me, and I'll try to help point you in the correct direction :)
      AIM: GlacierESteffan
      Yahoo: low_rdr
      MSN: [email protected]

Comment

My first suggestion is throw out the books.

I know it's hard getting to know people, but keep talking to people, ask what other powwows they will be going to & try to make a few, & build a friendship. Try to meet others where you live. Maybe the teacher you know, knows other people, or local socials or something.