Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Am I allowed to participate in pow-wows?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I allowed to participate in pow-wows?

Halito, Everyone!

This is my first time posting.

I am 1/4 Mississippi Choctaw and 3/4 Creole (African and French). I am what most would call a "Black Indian."

I would LOVE to honor my Choctaw ancestors by wearing my Choctaw regalia and participating in a Grand Entry at a pow-wow. I have attended two pow-wows in the Pacific Northwest this year and did not see anyone dressed in Choctaw regalia. I gotta represent!

I live in DuPont, WA. My closest relatives are in Oregon. Most of my "Black Indian" relatives are in MS, but are only interested in embracing their African heritage.

I trace my Indian ancestry through my Mom. My maternal grandfather was full-blood Choctaw.

I am not enrolled in a tribe. I do not have a tribal card. Am I even ALLOWED to participate in a pow-wow? Would I be accepted as being Native American? I'm surprised how many full-blood American Indians I have met here in Washington who have NEVER heard of the Choctaw people. Will I just be seen as a "wanna-be?"

Excuse my ignorance, but I don't want to make an attempt to honor my ancestors, only to be hurt and insulted because I do not have a tribal card.

Yokoke for your assistance!

Warm blessings,

Deb

Welcome Daffodil! I'm sure that someone lurking around here will have some advice for you!

My advice, as an outsider myself, is to always be humble, there are many things to learn and everyone seems to know the "right way." Listen closely to them, but also pay close attention to those that don't claim to have all the answers as I've found that often they have more to say on a subject than the "experts." Secondly, keep your sense of humor about you. There is often a lot of joking, kidding, ribbing, whatever you want to call it. It's all in fun!