Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wut do you think about European Pow Wows?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wut do you think about European Pow Wows?

K, dropping a bomb here,,,hehe!
    After spending 11 yrs with the Native Community I returned home to Sweden only to find that there's lots of European "Pow Wows" goin' on in England, Germany, Poland etc. After the initial "Whaaaaaat??" I started snooping around on the internet about all of this. Personally I'm embarrassed. I've also seen a few white Americans running sweats and Sundances for a fee in Sweden, Denmark & England- these guys I've bombarded with questions (childish? Pherhaps, but I can't shut up?).

I'm an author, and I feel the need to write a book for the folks over here about how easy it is to disrespect a culture. From one pale-face to another so to speak (LOL!). To me it's playing indian (I am so gonna get whooped, but be aware that I'm not speaking to the non- Natives that were brought into a Community, but to the ones who have never even been to one).

I've read a couple of posts already (one was bout some Jingle Dress dancing in Poland) but I want to let you all know that I will listen to all opinions, I want many (!) and I will listen to both sides, but ultimately I will use your replies as support for my book. There are people over here who will never listen, but there are many more who will if given a chance. Those are the ones I will write to.

Ok, your turn!

As an NDN, I don't think I've ever agreed with a white person more then just now.

I think your book is a good idea BUT be CAREFUL! Make sure it comes out clear that your one white gal talking to another, your interpretation of what your people are doing, then maybe add interviews and quotes on the subject from NDN's. I'm sure you can find plenty who'd like to tell how they feel on the subject.

Comment