mocassins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mocassins

Anybody got any ideas on how to make some ojibwa mocassins that have a firm sole? My mocs are soft sole & i would like to make them firmer soled.Thank you,to all who answer.

I certainly am no expert, but the only style mocs I know of that are specifically Ojibwe are the puckered-type soft sole. I guess you could get craft and make a pair, then cut out the bottom and replace it with a thicker rawhide (and have a 2-piece moc that looks like a 1-piece soft sole).

Or you could just take the simple route and put a rawhide insert in to firm them up a bit, but this doesn't help with the wear on the bottom side.... Someone smarter than I will have to figure that issue out.

Again I'm no expert, so I guess I'll wait and see what kind of responses you get too.
    A tater tot is worth a thousand fries.

Comment

Ideas

The "pucker toe" moccs are the way to go just as Andre suggests. In fact the Ojibway or Anishnabe (depending on what you want to use) were known for that particular stlye of moccasin as apposed to the straight center seemed moccs of other North East Tribes. And for general information the word "Chippewa" refers to the "Puckerd Toe."

You have a few options to make your one piece moccs. One is try making them of a thicker leather. Instead of using a split hide look for a thicker hide of Elk. If you can get some thick Moose that would be even better. Also, a nice thick piece of Buffalo will work too. Yes the Eastern Tribes and South Eastern Tribes hunted the Great Buffalo. In fact there used to be two heards of the Great Buffalo - the West Herd and the Eastern Herd.

Second, coat the bottom with some waterproof material. I use tratitional tar and pine pitch like the South East Tribes did. You can also use the ever wonderful "Shoo Goo."