Dancing in circles OOO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dancing in circles OOO

I'm a hobbyist of Native American Dancing. I've been dancing grass for about 6 years. Within the dance team that I'm in, our leaders have always told our dancers that traditional dancers NEVER spin in a complete circle like a grass dancer or fancy dancer would. They said that an almost complete circle was okay as long as it was not a full 360. I took it as fact and went about my business until i went to a pow wow about two years or so ago and i saw a northern traditional dancer spinning. I didn't get a chance (and frankly felt very rude) to ask him why he spun.

My questions is, do northern traditional dancers spin or not? Is it a general rule that they don't and only certain tribes do spin or have I been taught a load of rubbish?

Originally posted by bphibbs View Post
    I'm a hobbyist of Native American Dancing. I've been dancing grass for about 6 years. Within the dance team that I'm in, our leaders have always told our dancers that traditional dancers NEVER spin in a complete circle like a grass dancer or fancy dancer would. They said that an almost complete circle was okay as long as it was not a full 360. I took it as fact and went about my business until i went to a pow wow about two years or so ago and i saw a northern traditional dancer spinning. I didn't get a chance (and frankly felt very rude) to ask him why he spun.

My questions is, do northern traditional dancers spin or not? Is it a general rule that they don't and only certain tribes do spin or have I been taught a load of rubbish?
    First, let me say that I'm glad to see that you are taking the time to ask questions.

Secondly, it has been my experience while dancing at many Pow-wows for over 30 years, the term "never" is a bit out of place. There are very rarely any hard rules like "never" and "always" when it comes to the styles of dancing you may see at Pow-wows.