Dance.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dance.....

O'Siyo. I am a newbie to this posting on pow wow.com. I have a couple of questions, if I may ask.

One is this. When I dance, I do not dance in regalia like I see at pow wows, or like any of the dancers I see. I dance mostly in a trance like state or I Totem dance. Is there a "name" for this type of dancing? Would I even be allowed to dance at a pow wow if an open dance was announced?
    I know very little of my Native ancestors and what I do know conflicts with what I've always been told.
    Basically, I am searching for answers to questions I don't even know how to ask. Help??

Red Hawke Dancing

What is a totem dance?
    Trance dancing.... the name is " a little strange." There are no Indian 'trance' dances at any powows.
    What kind of clothes do you dance in?
    I think You have said it yourself, You do not know much about your native ways! There is a REASON every one else is dressed and dancing as they are.

well... they will straighten you out around here...
    But you sound a little into New Age, Mystical, romantic image stuff to me. You have too forget all the crap you ever saw in a movie..
    My bark is worse than my bite

Comment

Reply.

What is trance dancing? Well, when the spirit moves you to dance and you are no longer in control of the movement, that is what I consider trance. As for Totem dancing, I consider this to be when dancing as a Totem animal, mimicking it's movements in a dance. I guess it could be called Spirit animal instead of Totem.