Sumo

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm new to the powwow and have started my journey. Please advise.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new to the powwow and have started my journey. Please advise.

I have just stepped back onto the journey that I began almost twenty years ago. I am attending my first gathering of Storytellers and will in the spring attend my first Powwow ever. For a wedding gift I received a choker from my husband and would like to wear it to the gathering of Storytellers, but as the choker has red in it and a bear(all made of animal bones, which the ladies who sold it to me assured me that they weren't bones of animals that would offend any nation), I have been told that the Cherokee consider red as a bad color. I don't want to offend anyone and since this will be the first step on the next leg of my journey I don't want any bad omens right out of the gate. I'm pretty superstitous my self.
    Life is an adventure enjoy it. :flyaway: :35: :sunny!: :flowers:

I'm confused. What journey is it that you are on and how does pow-wow, storytelling and/or tradition relate?
    Damme ape’semmai, "Andabichidaiboonee’ gimmadu’i.Wihyu memme hainjinee’ nahandu’i. Enne wizha sudei’ tsaangu mabizhiahkande," mai.

The Creator said, "A foreign race of white people will come, who will become your friends. You should treat them well."

The Creator sure had a strange sense of humor!

Comment