New to Pow wow's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Pow wow's

Hello, I am new to the Pow wow scene. I have recently discovered my Cherokee past and I am wanting to get started in dancing in the Pow wow's, My question is where do I start? I have found several sites that show me how to make my dance outfit. What do I need to do now? Who do I get in contact with? Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to Powwow.com. I don't know much of where to look for in Indiana. I have never been there, even I have some family members that used to lived there. You could find someone from the reservation usually a centre for Native people. You just have to ask around to look for a person who knows how to make Powwow costume. For me, I have never own a costume for traditional or contest dancing in my life. I still dance whenever the announcer said that it is for all people to dance in the Powwow ground. If it is for traditional or special respect to a special person who lost a home or pass away. Then I won't dance until all people dance. I do own three traditional shawls. I wear traditional barettes. Maybe you can google to find some ready made costume on the internet. You don't need to make them unless you want to make the outfit. I hope you enjoy reading and posting here. I hope to see you around.

Comment

Welcome to pow wow's.

Well to answer your questions that all depends on if your ancestors were from NC or OK, that would be the first start. There is a Cherokee thread on here started by Okwataga and she lives in Cherokee, NC on the res and has posted much about the new dress of the Eastern Cherokee or you could get in contact with the Museum in Cherokee NC or the Museum in OK, depending on where your ancestor's were from. Either one can help you out and give you much info.