Tear dress accessories

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tear dress accessories

I am just getting started going to pow wows. I am an enrolled Cherokee, but my family never attended pow wows. I have a tear dress and shawl, but I need to know what accessories I need to complete my regalia. Also, would I dance in cloth and in northern or southern? Please help me with these questions. I thank you for any and all replies.

You probably want to stick in the southern cloth dancing category. Get or make some beaded items such as hairties, a big barrette, a medalion style necklace or choker, a beaded hand bag with fringe, etc. I think its great if you stick with your tear dress. All you need to do is add to it.

Comment

Thank you for your reply. I have really short hair, any suggestions? I have a nice purse. What about a belt? I have a beautiful concho belt - would it be okay to wear it or do I need a woven belt?

Comment

Originally posted by WocusWoman View Post
        You probably want to stick in the southern cloth dancing category. Get or make some beaded items such as hairties, a big barrette, a medalion style necklace or choker, a beaded hand bag with fringe, etc. I think its great if you stick with your tear dress. All you need to do is add to it.
        No offense whatsoever, but this isn't really what is commonly worn with a tear dress.

Just common observations on the rez show that girls usually wear corn bead necklaces, a small barrette with a feather in their hair, either a pony beaded belt or a fingerwoven belt, mocs (either old style pucker type or beaded plains style), and they carry a Cherokee style basket (either rivercane or white oak).
        I think everyone on this rez is addicted to Harry Potter...lol...

Comment