Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Dancing Help!?

Hello.

I am really new to Dancing, and my Grandmother hasn't done it in ages, so I can't really ask them for much help, so I coming to you!

We are Blackfeet, and I want to be able to show that in my dress and beadwork, but I do not know how. I also do not know how to make more of a traditional dress. A friend of the family does make regalia, but she always asks me to find what is traditional for Blackfeet, but my Grandmother does not recall (she has had brain damage this past year), and I am unsure on who I can turn too. I am just looking into traditional.
    Earth teach me stillness as the
    grasses are stilled with light.Earth teach me suffering as old stones suffer with memory. Earth teach me humility as
    blossoms are humble with beginning.

Otter, we are not Blackfeet, but I have seen lotsa references to Blackfeet regalia here. You're new, and might be like me, still learning how to use this site!

Go to the Groups tab, and find powwow crafts, and then General crafts. Look for the search box at the topright hand corner of the page, and type in what you are looking for. It's amazing the ammount of info you can dig up.
    "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it."

Comment

Smiling Otter, I believe you have already been advised on how to find out about your tribe's dancing/culture. http://www.powwows.com/gathering/sho...88#post1485488

Have you contacted anyone at the Band office? There is an entire cultural centre specific to the Blackfoot Nation at Blackfoot Crossing, Alberta. Have you contacted the curator of the centre for help?