how to dance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to dance

please help me I'm new to the pow wow dancing I would like to learn how to fancy shawl dance? could you tell me how I can learn please

how dance?more info about me

I'm only 15 and my sister's boyfriend toke me to my first pow wow not long a go and i fell in love with the dancing I like the fancy the most thats why I want to learn how to do it...

Comment

the best way to learn is to go to more powwows and watch. i know alot of dancers don't like to teach, its best just to watch them. see if you can get a hold of some powwow videos and practice at home if you can
      Don't ever stop dancing

Comment

shawl

In October Full Circle will have out a video on Shawl dancing. They just put one out on Jingle. Written Heritage has the one and will get the one in October.

Comment

That's so cool that you want to learn to fancy!! :dancer: I would have to say watch dancers....whether it is on tape or at pow wows. That way, you would at least get the basic concept! And just practice by yourself at home. Dance to some pow wow tapes!
          :24:

Comment

It's also important that you create your own style or dance steps. Watching videos & going to powwows is a great way to see how it's done, but you shouldn't mimic/copy other dancers exact steps. Their style is their own interpretation of the dance & the way they feel the music, just as you'll develop a style. I think the key is to be unique..........Best of luck in your new beginings!

~Buckskinz
            *BE EASY*

Comment

You should really try to be unique with your dancing. i mean you can't really have someone teach you.(most people refuse to teach) just go to more powwows and watch the fancy shawl dancers do their stuff. oh and watch for me too!
              Dance like no one's watching.
              Dance like there's no tomorrow.
              Most importantly dance your heart out!
              N8V Pride! Fancy Shawl 4-Life!