Future of women's fancy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Future of women's fancy

I have been dancing since I was about 13 yrs old, although didn't really get into the circuit until several years ago. During that time I have noticed a decreased interest in fancy... is it just me? Most of my younger female relatives, who do not dance, said that they would be interested in traditional or jingle rather than fancy. What's up with that! Do ya'll think women's fancy is going out of style? Just a though... but even so, I'll dance fancy till I can't dance anymore. I can see it now, me in golden age, skipping around the arena... I love it! :D
    Peace, love, and bear grease

I think this is good observation. I notice that there are a lot more jingle or traditional dancers than there are fancy, and I was wondering the same thing. I think maybe cuz, with both jingle and tradish, you can make one set of leggings and moccs and wear various dresses and still look good, but with fancy, it looks better with a variety of outfits. Just my thoughts.

Comment

No doubt that Jingle is very popular but, I've seen NO SHORTAGE of Fancy Shawl dancers at any of the big powwows (i.e. Gathering of Nations, etc...) !

http://spaces.msn.com/members/purplemartins/

Comment

I think it goes in cycles. Does anybody remember when grass started becoming real popular? There was a decrease in men's fancy and traditional then, too. But it changed and now there's a lot more men's fancy and traditional dancers out there. I'm guessing the same thing will happen to women's categories. Just my thoughts.
        Not better. Not worse. Just different.

Comment