Second Hand Dance Regalia

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Second Hand Dance Regalia

My 4 year old wants to dance fancy shawl, I was going to buy a second hand outfit but was told that you should not get a used outfit because it may have bad medicine, and should just have a new one made instead. Has anyone heard this before? is it true?? because she is still growing I wanted to just get it used & wait till she's a little older to have one made for her.

Originally posted by Tawnee_P View Post
    My 4 year old wants to dance fancy shawl, I was going to buy a second hand outfit but was told that you should not get a used outfit because it may have bad medicine, and should just have a new one made instead. Has anyone heard this before? is it true?? because she is still growing I wanted to just get it used & wait till she's a little older to have one made for her.
    I am by no means an expert, so I hope to be corrected if I tell you anything wrong. I understand that a good prayer and smudge will take care of any bad medicine. Even if you have it made specifically for her, you don't know what is in the heart of who makes it. It is also very unlikely that anything for a four year old would have any bad attatched to it. I do believe that you should do the very best within your means, so if you can afford something nicer or new, go for it. Do not skimp on your childs regalia. It shows your degree of respect and love, at least in my opinion. Happy dancing!!

Comment

Tawn,

If you want to be paranoid, look at the reality that the potential for bad medicine is everywhere! It just depends on your state of mind and what YOU believe.

A well known powwow family, gifted an Indian outfit to my niece that their daughter outgrew.

After my niece outgrew it, she gave it to my oldest daughter. Then after my oldest daughter outgrew it, my youngest daughter now wears it.