Need some sewing info??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some sewing info??

I already searched to archives and i really can't find any detailed information regarding sewing the jingles onto the dress.

Do i sew them on one by one?
    Tape them then sew them on?
    How much space should i leave between each jingle?
    What type of material should i use in regards to hanging the jingles from? ribbon? if so what size?

Can, someone please give me some information and if i missed something in the archives just let me know and i will back track...this is my first attempt at making a jingle dress and i would greatly appreciate any input.

Thank you very much
    ~SILLY
    :p Your First and Last Love Is Self Love! :p

Just so happens we were just looking in the book Pow Wow - Dancer's Crafters Handbook ..... on page 124 it says

"Jingles are most commonly attached to the dress with bias tape which is cut into strips about three inches long, knotted at one end, then pulled through the jingle so that the knot remains hidden inside. The tip of the jingle is pinched to further hold this strip in place. The jingles can be sewn to the dress individually, with long ribbons added later to cover the strips of bias, else the jingles can first be sewn to ribbons and then attached to the dress in rows."

Hope this helps, but I'm sure others have different, hopefully easier ways!
    Your Heart Shows by how Your Words and Actions Affect Others.

Nah I ain't NO WANNABE! I don't gotta wannabe when people wannabe like me!

Comment

Tsiniti has summed it up well. But if you need more info you'll find instructions for making a jingle dress in these sources:

1) Missouri River Jingle Dress pattern. Adult and child size. Available at many craft suppliers like Crazy Crow, Noc Bay, Written Heritage, ebay, etc.