Need Help with making a jingle dress

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help with making a jingle dress

I am currently a fancy shawl dancer but I want to start jingle dress dancing, What pattern would I use for the dress and how may jingles?? and any other information or help will appreciated I'm new to Jingle and I'm lost!! :O
    "Some People don't be lik'n it!!"

"THE ABILITY TO BRING ANOTHER LIFE INTO THIS WORLD IS A GOOD ENOUGH ANSWER TO WHY NATIVE WOMEN ARE SO SACRED..."

sigpic
    [[ME & THE GOVERNOR OF KANSAS MAY 2008]]

Check the jingle forum, you'll fnd the answers to all your questions there. And if you still have any unanswered question just ask. Good luck.
    The look on a baby's face the first time they hear the drum is priceless.......

Comment

I will definately do that thank you
      "Some People don't be lik'n it!!"

"THE ABILITY TO BRING ANOTHER LIFE INTO THIS WORLD IS A GOOD ENOUGH ANSWER TO WHY NATIVE WOMEN ARE SO SACRED..."

sigpic
      [[ME & THE GOVERNOR OF KANSAS MAY 2008]]

Comment

Jingle Dressmaking

Logically there is no set rules for a Jingle Dress these days.
        However, a proper Jingle Dress should have 365 jingles set on 7 rows. You can buy the lids and make your own jingles. You will have to use a cone shaper. You slide the lid in the slot on the side of the shaping tool, then roll the lid around it with you hand. You will need to wear very thick leather gloves, otherwise your hands will be black from the metal residue and they will hurt. But even so, your palms will ache after doing 400 Jingles.
        Once you have shaped your cones, you need to use a pair of pliers (same that the one you would use for cutting beads: the long round nose one), and introduce it in the cone to flat the little piece of the lid that was stuck in the shaping tool. Otherwise it will be in the way of the bias tape you will use to hang the jingle.