moccasins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• moccasins

I've decided to try to bead a pair of moccasins for my new outfit. I've never done a pair before. I asked a couple of friends who bead them for some advice, but we really didn't get a lot of time to talk about it. They suggested beading on a piece of canvas first, then sewing that onto leather of the moccasin. that way, if for some reason i need to, i can save the beadwork, and just change the leather. I think I'm going to try that, but I'm not sure exactly how to attach all the pieces once they are done be beaded. Anyone have any advice on this or anything else i may not have thought of yet? Any help would be GREAT! Thanks!
    Don't walk in front of me, I may not follow. Don't walk behind me, I may not lead. Just walk beside me and by my friend.

Originally posted by Meggers_018
    I've decided to try to bead a pair of moccasins for my new outfit. I've never done a pair before. I asked a couple of friends who bead them for some advice, but we really didn't get a lot of time to talk about it. They suggested beading on a piece of canvas first, then sewing that onto leather of the moccasin. that way, if for some reason i need to, i can save the beadwork, and just change the leather. I think I'm going to try that, but I'm not sure exactly how to attach all the pieces once they are done be beaded. Anyone have any advice on this or anything else i may not have thought of yet? Any help would be GREAT! Thanks!
    Depends on the style of moc, how much of the moc you're going to bead and so forth. I make tradish potawatomi-style mocs. I bead on canvas (usually white cuz I buy that by the yards 'n yards!) since pot beadwork is kind of free flowing (read: a very hard style to transfer to loomwork unless you use very small beads and are working a very large piece cuz everything is curved not square ).