No announcement yet.

Why do we wax the thread when beading?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why do we wax the thread when beading?

I am new to the world of beadaing and I was wondeing what we need to wax the thread for? Whata does it do, hold the beads better or something?

Thanks

April
    Respect your elders....Love your people.......
    Choctaw/Caddo/aborigini
    www.myspace.com/nativejournalist

none of my beezwax

Waxing your thread with beeswax will help prevent your thread from knotting and fraying while your doing your bead work. I wouldn't start a project without it. It still might frey a little with the wax but It definitely helps.
    Niin sa, Chi anung

Comment

I find if I don't wax my thread it tends to get frayed from pulling a whole length of thread in and out of the cloth repetitively (or back and forth through beads on a loom). Heavily waxed thread also seems more resistant to breaking when used to hold beads to a piece that gets a lot of wear and tear (like mocs).

Initially I did it because that was what I was taught. I have kept on using wax because waxed thread just seems to work better. (Also it is much easier to get tangles out of waxed thread!)

Comment

They've hit the nail on the head. It's a LOT easier to get knots out of waxes thread, than unwaxed thread. there have been times when I should have re-waxed my hread, but didn't, only to spend what seemed like hours trying to get a knot out. right now, I'm working on a poject using size D NYMO. It's white in color and seems to me that it's slicker than the colored NYMO thread. Waxing gives it some texture so it doesn't slip as much.
        Take nothing for granted. Life can change irrevocably in a heartbeat.

I will not feed the troll-well, I will try.

Comment