Backing Help :confused_

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backing Help :confused_

I'm SO new to powwows.com, have torn these threads apart, and am THRILLED that there are so many wonderful teachers in here willing to lend their advice. I'm completely self taught, but have always had a problem: putting backing on ANYTHING after the beadwork's done (sad, no?). Most of the stuff I make doesn't usually require a backing (earrings, pipebags, breastplates, mocs), but i wanna expand my horizons! I was wanting to make a beaded set for northern traditional and while i've read the threads on what to use, i am completely clueless as to the step by step finishing of a beaded piece. So my questions are:
    1) when i'm beading, say, hairties, do i leave an edge around the work or just tear the pellon as close as i can get to it? And if there's canvas under the pellon, do i just trim it?

2) after the work itself is isolated on the pellon/canvas or left with its edge.... now what? Do i invert the edges (if any) or do i just wonder under the piece to fabric or leather?

3)after the wonder under, is there any edge beadwork necessary? if so how do i sew the two together with beadwork?

4) what's the best stiffeners to use for medallions?

5)so my understanding is that fully beaded pieces are usually stiff enough to hold their own, but which articles will generally require a stiffener in between the work and the backing? And what works best?

I think that's all. I know it's a lot, but the only people i can ask these things to are very far away, and one input isn't the same as many experienced inputs, and I would love all of yours!
    Much respect,
    DakotaPikey

doksa ake

With something like hairties, I'd back it with ultrasuede. I make a sandwich of the beadwork, stiffener and ultrasuede. The edge on ultrasuede doesn't fray and can just be attached with edge beading, or whip stitched down and covered with "rolled" edging (lane stitch over the edge).