Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How could I go about making a full set for fancy dancing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How could I go about making a full set for fancy dancing?

I'm relatively new to beading and I just wanted to hear different prefences for beading techniques for the headband, choker with drop, suspenders, cuffs, belt, and peyoted whip sticks. Mainly how to go about making them and specifically how to loom the cuffs(though I may just lazy stitch them), and how to make the drop for the choker. I tend to prefer loomed items over lazy stitch. Thank you for any imput you can give.

Well if you want to loom instead first you need a good loom, not one of those store bought ones, find someone with a good loom to show you how to make one, or advertise here in the wanted section for one. I prefer the ones where you can adjust the length, I had my husband make it. I also like the ones where you string the loom over a big fat metal screw (or something, mines about a half inch thick) I like this way better then the ones where you string between beads for spacing. My loom holds about 100 beads across and is almost 4 feet long.
    Once you got that you need all your supplies. then someone to show you how to loom. It's real easy, it's the first type of beading I teach my kids, so don't worry, when I say easy, I mean easy.
    When your all done, then you got to learn about tying it all off and sewing it down. different people got different ways.

Actually, give me a few days and i'll go over it with you and include some pics.
    Last edited by SuzzeQ4; 01-12-2009, 04:55 PM.

Comment

Most all my stuff is Lane Stitch, except :
      Headband and drops, belt = loom
      rosettes for arm & back bustles = flat stitch
      dance sticks & loose fan = wrap stitch
      whistle = peyote