Full beaded belt...how much?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full beaded belt...how much?

I'm making a set with belt included I have all of the other prices worked out but the belt is tough. It's going to be about 32" L x 3" W at certain points finished with buckskin backing and fully edged. Depending on the finished design I'm guessing about 7 to 8 intricate medallions and either lane or lazy stitch in between. I figure it will take probably 4 weeks of my time. It's for a friend but I still need to get paid....is 400 to high? Thanks:)

Ok so I've had some polite & nice feedback saying that 400 is too much but when you consider supplies and the at least 7 medallions @ 50 each the price goes up fast. I've seen crowns go for 250 and up. Does anyone else struggle with this...I'm new at making beadwork for sale usually it's been fam.
    Last edited by pouaouagan; 02-17-2009, 02:11 PM.

$400 is NOT too much. It took you a whole month and that's less than minimum wage not counting supplies.

In reality, it's whatever the market will bear. If you don't get $400 from whoever ordered it, you sure could from someone else. Not that you would since it's custom ordered.

I struggle with this all the time too, especially with family and friends. Someitmes it causes hard feelings, but geez - most people don't know how much time goes into it.
    ...it is what it is...

Comment

I have seen several posts on here about how to figure out how much to charge
      I agree though $400 is not too much to ask for
      The problem is when its friends or family they want the "family discount" and would only pay say $150 or $200 if that....

Maybe too late, but I like to tell them up front what the costs will be so there is no sticker shock that is for sure!
      ᎠᏂᎩᏚᏩᎩ - Anigiduwagi
      Till I Die!

Comment