Beading Barrettes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beading Barrettes

I don't post much here but always read things you post. I have a question for Blackbear or anyone that can help me out. I am just learning to do other type
    of beading and always come to your forums to see what I can learn. I just looked at your tutorial on backing for a barrette and love your instruction, my question is on the beading of the barrette.

Is there any instruction on how to make these 3 circles like yours you made on your tutorial where you said you might enter it in the State Fair, its was pink, white, green. I have no clue how this is done, maybe you have a tutorial on the beading of the barrette...........

Love the help you all give us neebies on beading as its hard to learn on your own.

Thanks all,

Well, I'm not sure which barrettes of BB's you're talking about, but I'm assuming it's a 3 rosette barrette.

If you're brand new to "tacking" or "applique" stitch, it's easiest to start the center by mounting a metal spot or a round rhinestone. Then set up 2 needles with thread. One thread will hold your beads and the other will tack it in place.

So mount your center, or just use one needle, come up from the back side just slightly to the side of where your center will be and pick up a fat squarish or very round bead, push it into place, and put the needle down thru right next to the bead.

Now your ready for your first row. Come back up half a beads-width from the center. Add your beads going around the center. If your center is a single bead, then it's usually 7 beads or so. You don't want to make the beads tight - you need to leave some wiggle room for your tacking stitches. Go back thru the first bead so you have a circle of beads. Hold it in place and use the other needle and come up from the back between the 2nd and 3rd beads, then go back down right on the other side of the bead thread. Repeat , tacking between every other bead.