any tips for making mocs???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• any tips for making mocs???

ok...someday soon I'm going to make some new shoes for myself...LOL...after I finish all my orders for other people, that is!!! But in the past my mocs have been made by others...now I wanna make my own. I'm talking about southern style Comanche looking knee-high "boots" by the way.

I bought a Missouri River pattern to help me out, but I was wondering if anybody had any helpful hints or techniques that the pattern may not cover??? I always alter patterns to make 'em look just right, but I've never done this mocs pattern before.

Just bummin' for some tips!!! Thanks in advance.
    sigpic

See my trading post ads
    See my photo gallery
    See walela49's myspace page

Boy o' boy--about a summer ago..I was heading out to a powwow the next day, so that night before I was getting my dress and ect all together and stuff. Right, So I could only find one moc. Damn that sucked....So me and my homegurl had no other choice but to make new ones...Remind you, I had nothing really to sew it with..So having no choice but to use the sewing machine we wipped me up some mocs in about a hour...Not including all the time we spent fixing the darn things because we couldnt get the top to go right...We didnt have no pattern, just traced my toes and kept sewing..! Lots of luck to you..! ITs not as hard as you think. Thats why theres something called trial and error...haha Heck, they came out better with the sewing machine and still got them til this day.. The leather was a problem at first because it kept messing the needle. But you should have no problem....
    blah blah blah....

Comment

Pick your hide well.

To quote my teacher: "Measure twice, cut once."

If you're using latigo soles: Really massage that sole leather before sewing, to get it nice and loose so it will turn easily.