Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shawl Decoration

Hi, I'm new at this, haha.

My boyfriend just made me a wonderful outfit for powwows (a T-Dress, apron and shawl), and I was hoping to liven up the shawl a bit. Right now, it's a solid dark red with blue fringe.

I've been looking for beadwork designs, but all I'm finding is ribbonwork suggestions. Is beadwork rare on shawls?

Thank you!
    Last edited by Black Bear89's Wolf; 06-20-2009, 05:31 PM.

Beadwork is not uncommon. But it does make your shawl heavy.

Btw, I would advise against posting your email address in a forum unless you really like SPAM:)

Comment

shawl decoration

I think you don't see beadwork on the gaberdine shawls for practical reasons. The stretch and weave of it make it difficult to put beadwork on that doesn't pucker or warp, unless you bead it separately. You see beadwork quite a bit on broacloth "cheaters" though. You might check out the galleries, esp in southern buckskin

Comment

Do you plan on carrying shawl on arm, or wearing around shoulders?

If just having over arm SOme beadwork at bottom corners would be really preety, If you are having it around shoulders, Well if i was to bead my dance shawl i would want to put to much on it j/k

Maybe just aimple lane stitch for a few designs wouldnt bear it down to much with weight

Comment

Ok, so I'm going to go minimal with beadwork to keep the weight down. Ribbon sounds good. Any suggestions on where to get design ideas and any tips on doing the ribbon work itself? I've never worked with ribbon before. Do you guys know of any websites that have free patterns?

Comment

Beads on a shawl...yeah not unheard of, but not very practical. I do have one of my grandma's old plain shawls with pony type beads in the woven fringe.

There are many ways of decorating your shawl without using ribbon work.

Rows of ribbon sewn on across the bottom
            Painting a design...airbrushing is cool